41 Linlithgow Palace and town facts and figures in 2026

Explore palace attendance by year, download the figures and compare local visitor facts.

85,310visits in 2025+0.9% vs 2024
17.4% lower2025 vs 2019Calculated change
9 totals2016–20252022 not reported

Source: ALVA, 2016–2025. Admissions, not unique people or town footfall.

Linlithgow Palace visits by year
2016
74,428
2017
86,596
2018
94,718
2019
103,312
2020
12,128
2021
2,489
2022
Not reported
n/a
2023
53,463
2024
84,549
2025
85,310

Closure years are not comparable full operating years. The gap is missing data, not zero attendance.

Annual palace visits and calculated change
Change
2025Latest annual count85,310+0.9%
2024Annual count84,549+58.1%
2023Mostly closed until June53,463n/a
2022Not reported; not zeroMissingn/a
2021Closed mid-June for works2,489-79.5%
2020Pandemic-affected year12,128-88.3%
2019Before pandemic closures103,312+9.1%
2018Before pandemic closures94,718+9.4%
2017Before pandemic closures86,596+16.3%
2016Before pandemic closures74,428n/a

n/a means no comparable preceding annual total. Percentages are rounded to one decimal place and use the preceding calendar year's published total only. Changes measure recorded admissions, not popularity or demand.

Key takeaways

How many people visit Linlithgow Palace?

These are the palace's reported visits. They exclude any uncounted town, Peel or loch-path visits.

What the attendance series can tell you
PeriodHow to read it
2016–2019Pre-pandemic annual totals
2020–2021Pandemic and works affect comparability
2022No palace row in the ALVA table inspected
2023ALVA notes the site was mostly closed until June; the 2022 comparison was event-only
2024–2025Later annual totals; ALVA's 2024 note refers back to the 2023 closure

The highest reported total in this series is 103,312 visits, in 2019. The closure-affected low is not evidence of normal visitor demand.

What does a palace visit cost, and how far is the loch walk?

Standard online rates and access facts, checked October 2026. Conservation closures still affect parts of the palace.

Historic Environment Scotland: accessed October 2026
Visitor detailPublished figure
Adult online, ages 16–64£10
Concession online, ages 65+£8
Child online, ages 7–15£5
Last admission45 minutes before closing
Loch circuit2.3 miles; compacted gravel
First-floor approachAround 25 spiral steps

What facilities and ticket-office hours does Linlithgow station list?

These are station facilities, not train frequencies or guaranteed parking availability. Check the operator before travel.

National Rail: accessed October 2026
Station detailPublished figure
Car park capacity96 spaces
Weekday ticket office06:00–19:30
Saturday ticket office07:00–18:00

How large and deep is Linlithgow Loch?

The UK Lakes Portal's physical lake measurements are not a walking-route survey or a water-safety assessment.

UK Centre for Ecology & Hydrology: accessed October 2026
Lake measurePortal value
Surface area41 ha
Mean depth2.3 m
Maximum depth8.2 m
Catchment area758 ha

When did the Union Canal open, close and reconnect?

These dates describe the whole Union Canal, which passes through Linlithgow; they do not describe a single boat-trip season.

Scottish Canals: accessed October 2026
Union Canal milestoneYear
Opened1822
Formally closed to navigation1965
Reopened in Millennium Link restoration2001
Falkirk Wheel reconnected the canals2002

How long were Linlithgow's 2026 public canal trips?

The regular 2026 public-trip season has ended. These published durations describe that season, not available departures today or a 2027 timetable.

Linlithgow Union Canal Society: accessed October 2026
2026 tripApproximate duration
Town trip25 minutes
Avon Aqueduct cruise2.5 hours
Falkirk Wheel cruise6 hours

See the canal centre's current season notice before planning a departure.

How big is Beecraigs, and when is its visitor centre open?

Beecraigs is a separate countryside outing near Linlithgow. Visitor-centre hours differ from access to the outdoor park.

West Lothian Council: accessed October 2026
Beecraigs detailPublished figure
Park area370 hectares
Centre, 28 September–25 October 2026Daily 09:00–17:00
Centre, 26 October 2026–28 March 2027Daily 10:00–16:00; holiday closures apply

When can you visit Linlithgow Museum?

The museum is free to enter and has lift access. Its operator warns that events and holidays can change opening times.

Linlithgow Museum: accessed October 2026
Museum detailOperator's information
Thursday–Saturday opening10:00–16:00
Sunday opening13:00–16:00
Walk from the palaceAround 5 minutes; operator estimate

How old is St Michael's crown, and what did its restoration cost?

The modern crown belongs to the parish church beside the palace. These are historical project figures, not visitor charges.

Church of Scotland: May 2024
Crown of Thorns projectReported figure
Original spire erected1964
Restoration reported in May 2024£400,000
HES grant reported in May 2024£90,400
  • St Michael's Parish Church in Linlithgow had its original Crown of Thorns spire erected in 1964, according to the Church of Scotland's May 2024 report. (Church of Scotland, May 2024)
  • The Church of Scotland reported a £400,000 restoration of St Michael's Linlithgow spire in May 2024. (Church of Scotland, May 2024)
  • The Church of Scotland reported a Historic Environment Scotland grant of £90,400 towards the Linlithgow spire project in May 2024. (Church of Scotland, May 2024)

How far back does the nearby House of the Binns story go?

These dates describe a nearby heritage alternative, not parts of Linlithgow Palace or its admission ticket.

National Trust for Scotland: June 2023
House of the Binns milestoneDate
Land purchased by Thomas Dalyell1612
House built, curator's date range1612–1630
Gifted to National Trust for Scotland1944

Methods and reuse

The compilation contains nine reported annual attendance totals and 32 visitor and heritage facts. The attendance series uses ALVA's named Linlithgow Palace rows; a missing row stays missing, never zero. Changes compare consecutive published totals without adjusting for closures or mixing in other attractions. These are admissions, not unique visitors or town-wide footfall.

Lake dimensions are the UK Lakes Portal's record values, not new measurements. Boat durations describe the 2026 season; check current departures before travel. Individual facts link to their original publishers. Report a correction through our contact page.

Cite this compilation

Linlithgow Palace editorial team. “Linlithgow Palace and town facts and figures”. https://linlithgowpalace.com/linlithgow/facts-and-figures/

Reference the linked original publisher when quoting an individual figure. You may reuse our attendance compilation and calculations with a link to this page; source data remains credited to its publisher.